Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, text messaging and many more. All of these ways of communicating have a huge impact on us, even if we don't realize it. We are so used to communicating through social networking and texting that it affects they way we right and talk. I will sometimes catch myself saying abbreviated words (Perf as if perfect and awks as in awkward). This is especially shown while typing out an email or a paper for class. Because I am so used to writing in social networks, I tend to overlook the things I write, because the way I type and talk is just a natural thing. Things like autocorrect is so familiar that I will be typing a paper or email and will not realize I spelt something wrong because I am just used to it being corrected for me by my phone. Unfortunately, I learned the hard way =(.
Another big effect is that any big event in my life, I feel the need to tweet about it. Even small things, like my bowl from Chipotle or my Starbucks drink, I will post a picture about it on Instagram. Social media is the mail form of communication and it consumes my thoughts constantly. 
All in all, you just have to be aware of your recipient. Be aware of who your message is going to and make sure you read everything over before you send or post it! 
Jen Pacek
9/17/2013 02:08:00 pm

I totes have the exact same problem with speaking in abbreviations! I tend to speak in this way more than I do in my writing; however, the thought of using such abbreviated words in my writing had never crossed my mind before now, and this makes me a bit nervous... I should probs be more careful when I type up a piece for any class from now on! We do get so used to talking a certain way; and with autocorrect--although a wonderful tool--we do seem to overlook our habits. I can also relate to your Instagram pictures-- I don't know how many pictures of frozen yogurt I have uploaded and I think I would hate myself if I were ever to look back and count! This post was so enjoyable to read, and I feel better knowing that I am not alone when it comes to the habits we have taken up from the so many modes of communication today!

Reply
sarah
9/19/2013 04:47:31 am

I feel like this is def a generational thing. In high school, my teachers would show us papers of people who abbreviated everything. It was crazy. I double check all of my work before handing it in and I check for abbreviations because I know Im so used to using them.

Reply



Leave a Reply.