That Awkward Moment When...

"You really need to download Snapchat!" Said my friend, Lauren, for the 800th time this week.  

"Fine!" I said reluctantly. I gave in and downloaded the application to my phone. I was not really sure how to work it. 

I went on the app and played with it to try and figure it out. I noticed that you could add your Facebook friends. I had just become friends with the hottest guy in my writing class, Joe Smith, on Facebook. I asked Lauren if it was weird to add him and she said, “What do you have to lose?” She was right. I confidently clicked the check mark next to his name and added him.

I patiently waited for him to approve my request. After what seemed like forever, I finally saw that he accepted it!

Suddenly, a notification popped up on my screen: Snapchat from JohnSmith. I screamed and showed Lauren. We both started jumping up and down. I opened the snapchat and it was a picture of his beautiful face.

“You have to snapchat him back!”

I went to go snapchat him back and noticed he was not on my friends list anymore. I guess I must have accidentally deleted him. Feeling bad, I quickly re-added him. I waited for him to add me back, but I got nothing. I figured he must have fallen asleep, so I did the same.

The next day, I checked again but still no add. Lauren, who seemed to think this was funny, said, “I’m making my status ‘That awkward moment when you add someone on Facebook, accidentally delete them, then re-add them and they don’t add you back.’” I proceeded by throwing my pillow at her. I was dreading seeing him in class. 

Needless to say, it was very awkward on Monday.




Today is (finally) my birthday! I have been counting down the days for this. Especially because I am pretty sure I'm getting the new Iphone, which I have been begging my parents to get me for months.

I head downstairs to the kitchen to find my parents waiting for me at the table.

"Happy birthday, Jess!" I sat down at the table in front of my favorite cake. They started singing "Happy Birthday" to me and I just had a smile on my face.

I shoveled a piece of cake down my throat and awaited my gifts. My mom handed me cards and a huge box. I was a little disappointed because this meant that I was not getting the Iphone.

I unwrapped the wrapping paper off of the box to find a Forever 21 box. But all of a sudden, the box started to ring. I took the top off of it to find an Iphone inside. I jumped up and ran over to my parents and hugged both of them. I couldn’t believe it.

A little later, my mom and I went to a mall that I have never been to before to buy me some birthday clothes. To be honest, the only thing I was paying attention to was my phone. My mom and I walked into the mall and I had not even picked my head up. I heard my mom say something but I was so invested in the phone that I did not really listen to what she said. I nodded my head to make it seem like I was paying attention and just kept walking, still not looking away from my phone.

I finally look up to see that my mom is nowhere in sight. I freaked out, not knowing what to do. Let me tell you, nothing’s worse than losing your mom while you’re shopping. After a while of freaking out, I realized that I had a cell phone now and could call her and find out where she is. I called her and she did not seem too happy. We met up in the food court and I was never so happy to see her. I took this as a lesson to always listen when your mom is talking   
Dana
9/30/2013 03:02:38 pm

They are both so funny I hope mine come out this good!

Reply



Leave a Reply.