Miley Cryus. Probably the most talked about person nowadays. Everything she does seems to be a controversial act that people feel the need to comment or make fun of. One big example of this is her video for "Wrecking Ball." According to Cyrus: 
But most people did not see the deeper meaning and saw it as Miley just being naked and licking a bunch of stuff. There are countless parodies making fun of this video, which is where the intertextuality comes in. 
So basically, even though Miley Cyrus has deeper meaning for the things she does, people just disregard that and interpret her actions into something worse than her intentions. 
Jamie Prettyman
12/11/2013 10:07:36 am

Jessica, I really enjoyed reading this blog post because I loved your take on the whole Miley Cyrus situation. I agree and I think that too many people are criticizing her because of the choices that she makes, which makes her an easy target to get made fun of. I personally think she is a genius because the more outrageous things she does, the more popular she gets!

Reply
Kate
12/11/2013 10:23:33 am

Hola Jess! I like this blog post a lot, because you are using current issues to exemplify intertexuality and also because you give people a reason to stop hating on Miley for a second.

Reply
Sarah Borja
12/12/2013 03:50:36 am

I totally agree with this blog post! I'm not even a Miley fan, but I'm sick and tired of people complaining about how "slutty" she's being. Why should it matter if she doesn't wear much in her music video? It doesn't say anything about her as a person. Meanwhile, make musicians are running around acting like total violent or disrespectful, but they don't get nearly the same press negativity as Miley does just for showing some skin.

Reply
Hailey
12/12/2013 12:16:31 pm

I found your post interesting, mainly because I've heard so much about Miley's Wrecking Ball music video. Many comments if not all were negative. I haven't actually seen it but it was nice to hear something positive if not truthful about it. I'll admit the lyrics are pretty straightforward, and her being naked in the video kind of makes sense. I think people just love to hate her so if they can attack her they will. Thanks for giving a different perspective on the whole Miley craze, I think Hall would appreciate that. Great post!

Reply
Amanda
12/15/2013 09:31:48 am

I really enjoyed reading this blog post. I like the way you went about and talked about Miley and the positive side of her. We all have our down fall but there is always something positive in us. I know the lyrics in her music are very to the point but something you have to go beyond that point and look deeper into it. Good Blog!

Reply
4/29/2021 02:57:25 pm

I feel terribly sorry for you Miley I understand why you made the song & the video now

Reply



Leave a Reply.