Thinking of something to do for this assignment was a lot harder than I thought it was going to be. I was going crazy trying to think of something until I talked it over with my roommates who helped me come up with the idea to go apple picking.
 It was the perfect day to go. The weather was beautiful: sunny and warm with a nice cool breeze. We left at around 11:30am. Everything seemed to be going good. However, things were not going according to plan. We put the address of a place into the GPS and it was saying that it was 50 minutes away. I was not going to drive that far. We Googled other placed and found one that was open (because most apple picking farms were not open on  Sundays) Unfortunately, the place we were planning on going to was not open until next week (I may or may not have had a freak out at this point). We went back onto Google and called before driving there to make sure they were open and they were!
We drove to the place, which was only about 10 minutes away, and started off on the adventure. We got our baskets and headed out into the field of apple trees. I was on a mission to find the perfect apple. After about a half hour of searching, I found it. 
After we finished picking our apples, we decided to check out the rest of the farm. There was a store where they sold things such as fresh apple cider, apple cider donuts, and other fresh produce. After going in the shop we went to the back and saw a bunch of things to play on and take pictures with. Obviously the kid in me wanted to go and play. We played around and took lots of pictures. 
All in all, this was such a great experience. I had so much fun being outdoors with my friends and just enjoying the nature around us. I'm actually trying to be a more active person and not just sit at home watch television and play on my phone, so this was the perfect activity for that. That is basically what I got from these readings and this assignment. 
"But real adventures, I re­flected, do not happen to people who remain at home: they must he sought abroad." This quote from An Encounter is so true. To be able to experience an adventure, you need to get off of your butt and go do it. 
Dana Cramasta
12/10/2013 01:01:09 am

I found it extremely interesting that you've never been apple picking, like as a field trip when you were little. But every school is different. And I am glad you had such a great time. I love apple picking and trying to make it a tradition in my family. I also want to try and go apple picking with my future students and make applesauce with them so they can see like the process of how apples come from the trees and we can turn it into apple sauce. =]

Reply



Leave a Reply.